Sotogrande International School - IB school in the South of Spain

25.12.17

1255

I was lucky to find another school in Spain with International Baccalaurate program. Every year more and more families turns to my Agency in to require about schools with program in English in Spain. Not surprising, since schools in Span are much cheaper then in Britain and most of international schools in Europe and children feel very comfortable to study there. In addition, many families often spend holidays in Spain and familiar with this country finding it safe for their children to study there. I fully support parents in choosing a secondary schools in Spain and now I want to share my interview with a representative of Sotogrande International School, which is considered as a school with great potential for our families. The school offers a full IB program cycle – from Junior to Middle Years Programme and Diploma Programme and has  developed innovative sports program, something I have not seen before, at least in Spain.

SIS

L: Where Sotogrande International School is located?

R: the School is located in the South of Spain, 1.5 hours drive from Malaga airport, 40 minutes takes you to Marbella.

L: How long the school has been teaching International Baccalaureate?

R: Since 2000 when the school received the right to teach the Diploma Programme. Now children follow IB already from 3 years of age. Foreign students come to us for boarding form the age of 11 to join Middle Years Programme (MYP). 80% of teaching conducted in English but the children are learning Spanish as well, so it is easier to adapt here. If to speak about Russian-speaking students (at the school there are about 10%), they can study Russian as a native language. For them there is a separate subject – Russian language and literature, which takes place 2 times a week. The school also has A-level program in high school for the kids who come to our sports program as it's too much to do sport program plus IB.

L: What percentage of students of other nationalities? How many foreign students study in school?

R: 30% are Spanish students, 30% are British. Less of Germans, Russians, Italians. In total we have  44 nationalities, which are 70% of all students. Our school is large – 940 students. But that's including children from 3 primary school but half of our students are in high school.

школа

L: Many of my clients want to come on the last year of the MYP, is it possible to enter Sotogrande International School in 14-15 years?

R: Yes, but we will require a high level of English, as the program is already complicated and there is only one year left before the graduation program.Student's equivalent to IELTS English should be minimum of 5.5.

L: You said that pay a lot of attention to the study of Spanish language? Would the child still have time to learn Spanish in school if comes to study in 15?

R: I think so. Foreign students often share the room with Spaniards, therefore, can communicate in Spanish both in school and in their free time. We also have many extra-curricular activities where they can speak in both languages.

L: do you Offer Spanish as a second language in the diploma programme?

R: Yes. Children can not even study English at IB, they can take Spanish and Russian. But all subjects are taught in English anyway.

L: What other IB courses do you offer?

R: Geography, history, biology, disciplines in the arts, drama, music.

L: How are things with sports?

R: I have already mentioned, we have a new sports program that allows children from the age of 14 to continue their studies at school and play sports at a professional level with our sports partner school. The purpose of this program is to obtain an athletic scholarship and enroll in an American University. We have 3 sports to offer in this program: golf, tennis and football. Kids play sports in the afternoon and study basic disciplines in  MYP program. When they go to high school athletes take 3 subjects at A-level and continue to train sport. This is a new program we launched it last year. A-level costs 10% cheaper than IB but you have to pay sport school separately.

Now there are 11 students taking this program,doing tennis, golf and football. But the school has other sports sections. For example, there are horse stables and some of our students do horseback riding, but it is not included in our sports program.

Sotogrande International School is interesting for its established IB program. Also because of the thoughtful curriculum graduates will be proficient in Spanish and continue learning Russian which will undoubtedly be useful for a career in the future. I like their sports program. Parents have repeatedly asked me for a recommendation of a good school with develops children in sports. The opportunity professionally play sports and combine with A-level is a great advantage for those kids who focus on sports in high school.

Find out more about the school on aspect.ua

Important

Request for consultation

Read also

Sotogrande International School - IB школа на юге Испании

25.12.17

942

Мне повезло найти школу в Испании с программой International Baccalaurate. С каждым годом все больше семей обращается в моё агентство в поиске хорошей школы на английском языке в Испании. Неудивительно, ведь испанские школы дешевле британских и большинства международных школ Европы, и детям все также комфортно учиться там. К тому же, многие семьи часто отдыхают в Испании и уже знакомы с этой страной, находя ее безопасной для учебы своих детей. Я полностью поддерживаю родителей в выборе средней школы в Испании, и сейчас хочу поделиться своим интервью с представителем Sotogrande International School, которую считаю перспективной испанской школой. Школа предлагает полный цикл программы IB – от младших классов до Middle Years Programme и Diploma Programme, а также разработала инновационную спортивную программу, аналогов которой я не встречала, по крайней мере, в Испании.

SIS

Л: Где расположена Sotogrande International School?

П: Школа находится на юге Испании, от международного аэропорта Малаги в 1.5 часа езды, 40 минут занимает дорога до Марбельи.

Л: Как давно в школе начали обучать студентов по программе International Baccalaureate?

П: С 2000 года школа получила право преподавать Diploma Programme. Сейчас, дети приступают к обучению на IB уже с 3-х летнего возраста. Иностранные студенты приезжают к нам на бординг с 11 лет на программу Middle Years Programme (MYP), реже в возрасте 9-10 лет. 80% учебы проходит на английском языке, но дети также активно изучают испанский, так им легче адаптироваться здесь. Если говорить о русскоязычных студентах (в школе их около 10%), то они могут изучать русский язык как родной. Для них отдельный предмет – русский язык и литература, который проходит 2 раза в неделю. В школе также есть программа A-level, в старших классах ее берут дети, которые поступают на нашу спортивную программу.

Л: Какой процент учащихся других национальностей? Сколько иностранных студентов учится в школе?

П: 30% - это испанские студенты, еще 30% - британцы. Меньше – немцев, русских, итальянцев. Всего у нас представлено 44 национальности, в общем 70% от всех учащихся. Наша школа большая – 940 студентов. Но это включая детей с 3-х лет, а так половина учеников – это старшеклассники.

школа

Л: Многие мои клиенты хотят поступать на последний год MYP, возможно ли поступить в Sotogrande International School в 14-15 лет?

П: Да, но мы будем требовать высокий уровень английского языка, так как программа уже усложняется и остается всего один год перед дипломной программой. Чтоб вы понимали, в эквиваленте IELTS английский должен быть с оценкой 5.5.

Л: Вы говорили о том, что уделяете много внимания изучению испанского языка? Ребенок успеет выучить испанский в школе, если приедет на учебу в 15 лет?

П: Я думаю, что да. Иностранные студенты часто проживают в комнатах с испанцами, поэтому могут общаться на испанском как в школе, так и в свободное время. Также у нас много внеклассных занятий, где они могут говорить на всех изучаемых в школе языках.

Л: Предлагаете ли вы испанский как второй язык на дипломной программе?

П: Да. Дети могут даже не учить английский язык на IB, они могут взять испанский или русский. Но все предметы преподаются на английском в любом случае. 

Л: Какие еще IB курсы вы предлагаете?

П: География, история, биология, есть дисциплины по искусству – драма, музыка.

Л: Как в школе обстоят дела со спортом?

П: Я уже упоминала, у нас есть новая спортивная программа, которая позволяет детям с 14 лет продолжать учебу в школе и заниматься спортом на профессиональном уровне с нашими партнёрскими спортивными школами. Цель такой программы – получить спортивную стипендию и поступить в американский университет. У нас представлено 3 вида спорта: гольф, теннис и футбол. Дети занимаются спортом во второй половине дня и изучают базовые дисциплины на программе MYP. Переходя в старшую школу, спортсмены берут 3 предмета на A-level и продолжают усиленно тренироваться. Это новая программа, мы запустили ее в прошлом году. По стоимости она дешевле на 10%, чем IB.

Сейчас на программе учится 11 студентов, занимаясь теннисом, гольфом и футболом. Но в школе есть и другие спортивные секции. Например, недалеко от школы есть конюшни, и некоторые наши студенты занимаются верховой ездой, но это не входит в нашу спортивную программу.

Sotogrande International School, в первую очередь, интересна своей IB программой. К тому же, из-за продуманного учебного плана выпускники школы будут владеть испанским языком и продолжать изучение русского, что несомненно пригодиться для карьеры в будущем. Отдельно скажу о спортивной программе. Родители не раз обращались ко мне за рекомендацией хорошей школы со спортивным уклоном. Возможность заниматься спортом и совмещать с программой A-level я нахожу отличным выходом для тех детей, которые делают упор на спорт в школьные годы.  

Найдите еще больше информации о школе на сайте aspect.ua

Важно

Запрос на консультацию

Читайте также